# Minute of Rosyth District Scout Council Annual General Meeting held on 18 September 2019. Registered Scottish Charity SC 008476 at the 68<sup>th</sup> Scout Hall inverkeithing

## 1. Welcome from the District Chairperson

The District Chairperson welcomed all present. In particular she welcomed and congratulated Callum Farquhar Regional Commissioner East Region on his recent mention in the Queens honours list, and thanked the 68<sup>th</sup> Fife Scout Group for providing the refreshments.

#### 2. Welcome from the District Commissioner

The District Commissioner, echoed the Chair's welcome, he also spoke about events in the District over the past 12 months. He highlighted the good works carried out by the Scouters and Supporters over the past year. Our total membership as at 31st January 2019 was 742 of which 202 are adults.

He also welcomed Callum Farquhar the Regional Commissioner

#### 3a. In attendance

As attached below – Page 5

### 3b. Apologies

As attached below – Page 5

### 4. Minute of the Previous AGM

The minute of the Previous AGM were approved as a true record

## **Proposed Elaine Pert Seconded Peter Merkle**

### 5. Financial Statement and Report

The Annual Report & Financial Statements for the Year ended 31 March 2019 was circulated to all present. The Treasurer advised that the Financial Statement and Report had been signed off by both the Independent Examiner and the Chairperson. The document had been previously circulated to Executive Committee members. David then went through the account page by page highlighting the salient points in the report.

There were no questions about financial matters. The Chairperson thanked the Treasurer for his clear and concise report. She then went on to thank David for his many years of service as he hands over to our new treasurer Karen Armour

### Proposed Graham Bennet Seconded Peter Merkle

### 6. Report Chair (Non-uniformed)

The Chairperson presented a consolidated non-uniformed report. The Chair wished to thank all that had supported Scouting in Rosyth District during the past year. There were no questions raised on the report.

# 7. Report District Commissioner (Uniformed)

The District Commissioner presented a consolidated uniformed report. Terry highlighted the trip to Holland and the good work of the Inch SAS, Terry concluded by saying that he wished to thank everyone that had supported him over the last 12 months. There were no questions raised on the report

Terry then invited the Regional Commissioner Callum Farquhar to say a few words.

Callum said he was pleased to see young people being given the opportunity to participate in Scouting. Callum finished by saying to all in the District, keep up the good work and good wishes from the Region for the continuing hard work that is put in by all in Rosyth District as it is one of the outstanding Districts in the Region.

Terry thanked the Regional commissioner for his kind words and invited all to view a presentation of activities and events in Rosyth District over the past 12 months.

### 8. Appointments

#### a. Ex Officio

**President** - Graham Bennet Proposed by Gordon Pert and Seconded by Catherine Ann Ness

**Chairperson** – Sheena Gilbert Nominated by Terry O'Neill and approved by the Council

The following elections were accepted unopposed.

**Secretary** – Graham Gilbert

Treasurer - Karen Armour

Assistant Treasurer – Anne Field

The following appointments were noted

**District Commissioner** Terry O'Neill

**District Explorer Scout Commissioner** Niall Williams

**District Network Scout Commissioner** Melanie Williams

### b. Elected

The following were accepted unopposed

1st Fordell Jack Curry

13th Fife Martin Rogers (also Quartermaster)

41st FifeHelen Clark48th FifeIain Dick66th FifeStuart Pearson68th FifeKevin Lloyd77th FifeAndrew Wallace

#### c. Nominated

The following nominations were noted

ADC Beaver Scouts

ADC Cub Scouts

ADC Scouts

ADC Scouts

ADC Adult Training

ADC Youth Involvement Gemma Wilson (also Member under 25)

### d. Co-opted

The following were noted as being co-opted at the District Executive meeting held on Wednesday 19 June 2019.

Badge SecretaryCath CusatorAppointment ConvenorEric RossAppointment SecretaryElaine Pert

PRO Gordon Stevenson
Active Support Peter Merckel
Member under 25 /DYC Jenna O Neale

## e. Regional Executive Committee

Gordon Stevenson

### f. Regional AGM

The Regional Constitution has been changed to give all members of the Region voting rights.

### g. Independent Examiner

To be arranged by the Treasurer

#### h. Scottish Conference

The date for the Scottish Conference and AGM has yet to be confirmed for 2020 but it is expected for Sunday 13th September 2020.

## 9. District Levy

It was unanimously agreed at the District Executive meeting held on Wednesday 19 June 2019, that the District Levy will be raised to £4.00. with a £500 contribution from the Inch SAS to help offset the District levy.

### **10. Awards** (Including Rosyth District Quaich)

The DC advised that Claire Fernie had been chosen as the worthy recipient for District Quaich for services to the District,

District Awards were as shown in the Annual report.

David Allan was presented with a token of thanks for his support over many years as the District Treasurer.

### 11. Any Other Competent Business

The DC made an appeal for assistance with the Oor Willie appeal.

The president Graham Bennet called our attention t members of the District who have "gone home" this year ... Alan Bull, Margaret Thompson, and Janette Lambert.

### 12. Guest Speaker

The DC invited Jenna O'Neale and Jamie Smith to undertake a short presentation about their experiences when they attended the recent World Jamborette 2019.

The DC thanked Jenna and Jamie for their interesting and informative presentation.

There being no further business the meeting was closed.

Graham Gilbert Secretary Rosyth District Scout Council Executive Committee

## Attachment to District AGM Minute 18 September 2019

### In attendance

District Chairperson incoming Sheena Gilbert Terry O'Neill District Commissioner Graham Bennet District President Peter Merckel District Secretary David Allan

District Treasurer (Retiring) District Treasurer (Elect) Karen Armour District Badge Secretary Cath Cusator

Catherine Ann Ness ADC (AT) Gordon Pert Vice President

Niall Williams **DESC** Clair Fernie ADC Cubs Jenna O'Neale DYC

1st Fordell Firs Jack Curry

13<sup>th</sup> Fife/District Quartermaster 13<sup>th</sup> Fife SL Martin Rogers

Alan Conneny

48th Fife Elaine Pert 48<sup>th</sup> Fife/PRO 48<sup>th</sup> Fife SL 48<sup>th</sup> Fife ASL Gordon Stevenson Ian Stevenson Paula Stevenson

68<sup>th</sup> Fife Explorers Jamie Smith

Andrew Smith

Callum Farquhar Regional Commissioner Phil Smithard Regional Secretary Gordon Couper Regional Chairperson

Derek Dunsire ARC Development / WSJ Unit Leader

James Maclean ASL WSJ Unit Stacey McPherson ASL WSJ Unit

### **Apologies**

Kevin Lloyd, Keith Armour, Melanie Williams, Barrie Wilson, David Holland, Ian Dick, Helen Clark, Alex Duncan